Favorite Childhood Movies Part I – A Little Princess

Standard

As stated in Wikipedia,”A Little Princess is a 1995 American children’s film directed by Alfonso Cuarón, starring Liesel Matthews, Eleanor Bron, Liam Cunningham, and Vanessa Lee Chester. Set during World War I, it focuses on a young girl who is relegated to a life of servitude in a New York City boarding school by the headmistress after receiving news that her father was killed in combat. Loosely based upon the novel A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett, this adaptation was heavily influenced by the 1939 cinematic version and takes creative liberties with the original story.”

Furthermore, “the film was critically acclaimed and given various awards, such as an Academy Award nomination for its significant achievements in art direction and cinematography, among other aspects of its production.”

A Little Princess happens to be my one of my favorite childhood movies and it is simply magical and heart-warming. I remember going to the cinemas back in 1995, when I was 6 years old, and watching this movie for the first time. Since then, I have probably watched it more than 20 times and I still haven’t got bored of it. There were some parts that made me cry. I remember when my next-door neighbors came over to my place once and we watched the movie together. My neighbors couldn’t stop crying at the sad moments – the tissue box almost ran out! This movie is definitely worth watching and it will always have a special place in my childhood memories.

I love this fan-made video of the movie!

 

Here is the trailer:

 

Most memorable scene (the end part is hilarious…hahaha):

 

On an interesting note, the author of the book in which this movie is based on also wrote The Secret Garden, which happens to be one of my favorites as well. Why don’t they make movies like this anymore? *sigh*

(Credit: To the rightful owner)

—Moonlight

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Favorite Childhood Movies Part II – The Secret Garden « A Spark of Moonlight

Leave a Reply

